Stream Skunk Radio Live on Apple TV         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Samsung TV         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Alexa Radio         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Amazon Fire TV Stick         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Roku TV         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Alexa TV         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Android TV         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Twitch         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Mixcloud Live         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Google Assistant         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Google News         Stream Skunk Radio Live on iTunes Radio         Stream Skunk Radio Live on Orange Radio




Music Reviews


MUSIC REVIEWS
Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the SRL writers' room are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views or positions of SRL Networks, its artists or its members. Anonymity allows our writers to express themselves freely without fear of persecution or harassment. This usually means things could sometimes get a little racy, raunchy, filthy, controversial, disgusting, annoying, cringe-worthy, explicit or uncomfortable but don't worry, we'll try to limit our curse words to two per paragraph and we promise not to use dirty words like poo-poo and wee-wee, or show you videos of Miley Cyrus shaking her bottom really fast. Also, the females here may say dirty things sometimes but they're totally not sluts - so don't stand too close behind them in the elevator or look at their boobies for too long, they carry pepper spray. If anything you read here offends you in any way please don't take it personally, but let us know so we can give whoever wrote it a good spanking, tickle them with a pink feather till it hurts when they smile and make them watch MTV for one whole hour.

The Indie Music Review Board brings you daily reviews of new and classic independent (indie) music albums, singles, mixtapes, music videos and compilations, similar artist suggestions, free streaming, and music download links for the ultimate music discovery experience.






Type an artist name, genre, city, music service or anything else, or select a tag below

Music Review: The B Side by Daiyon - Hip Hop - Wisconsin, USA | Music Discovery XO


MUSIC


HIP HOP REVIEWS


30-08-2022 18:47 GMT


Music Reviews (August 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Hip Hop artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Hip Hop performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Daiyon on YouTube |


Daiyon

"The B Side"
Hip Hop


🤯 God must be playing a trick on me!!! 😕

You can always tell when people look in the mirror way too much, and that they love what they see every single time - in a really weird, vain, almost unnatural way. Like they think to themselves: “good god, my eyes are dazzling AF; or “damn I’ve got such an amazing smile, who wouldn’t love me?”; or “you think my cheeks are rosy, wait till you see my other cheeks; and be sure to plant your lips on them at least once while you are back there will ya?”; or “man I look like Jesus, I’m even a pretty decent guy who likes hookers too. I too even wear dirty women’s night gowns to night clubs sometimes like Kanye West – man I’m so cool”; or “I wonder if they notice how much I look like a new and improved Marilyn Monroe”; or “man! I look so mysterious and deep, good god I’m handsome”; or “look at my smile, so soft and gentle; love me, love me, love me, please”. I’m sure you are thinking to yourself, those seemed awfully specific right? And you’re totally right. Now try not to label me a total asshole when I tell you who those people are, and bear in mind that those things that were written were just the products of a comedic mind casually strutting its stuff to see if it’s still got it – it does by the way, if I may say so myself. And bear in mind, I don’t think it’s bad to look in the mirror, in fact it’s really good for you. I however try to do it only twice a day – once in the morning when I wake up and again at night right before I turn on the red light in the master bedroom and things get, err, a little too freaky to discuss here (wink, wink). Let’s talk about it on Twitter before Jeff Bezos pulls out 😊 – did you get that? Pulls out? He-he-he. If you ask me, I think the deal was the equivalent of a sizable object in an unsuspecting butt hole, but what do I know about business and finance, and who cares what I think, right? And by the way I plant a big wet kiss on my lips every time I look in the mirror, I don't just do it for fun or to see if I'm still hot 😀. 

Anyway, where were we? Ah yes, those statements that I came up with; to describe 7 different individuals who, for comedy’s sake I assumed look in the mirror too often, and more than 5 times a day in fact – I’m not saying they do and I don't know these guys personally, let’s just have fun with it okay? I read an article on Music Week a while back and the headline was “Universal Music Australia unveils senior execs as John O’Donnell confirms retirement”. I’m sure you can easily highlight the headline and find the article on Google, but to make things easier for you I’ve added a link to the title that opens in a new window, again for your convenience, ‘cos you are so special. I wouldn’t even fart while writing this if I had to, in order not to cause your awesome vibes to shift even the slightest bit in any direction whatsoever, whether you like smelling peoples’ farts or not (I’m sure you don’t obviously, you’re not weird at all) - that’s how awesome I think you are. Can you match any of those faces to any of the statements I mentioned above? Who do you think has the really big, rosy cheeks and wants you to plant your lips on them? He-he-he. Tweet me on Twitter (@skunkradiolive) and I might tell you which one belongs to which one so you can have one of those tinnie winnie wins that are all the makings of a really good day. 

Anyway, let’s get right down to this song. I'm totally certain that you’d really want to plant your lips on it when it’s done playing. But don’t kiss your phone screen, it’s full of germs. Wipe it with an antibacterial wipe first and then once again after like they do in church when they kiss the crucifix on Good Friday; then get your friend to kiss it too. By the way, if you were Catholic, what part of the cross would you kiss? 🤔. Again, you can tweet me @SkunkRadioLive.

This is one of those records that gives ten times as much as it takes from you in minutes and seconds. In fact it even saves you time by telling you exactly what song to play next or add next to your playlist – it. Yep, this is another one of those songs that has no chaser, anything that comes after it will be shite! as far as you’re concerned. To be honest, I’ve got it on repeat now and I really don’t know where to go from here, except to stop the music player. But wait YouTube has no stop button, and neither does Spotify. Aaaarghhh!!!! I’m totally losing it now?! 

Wait… (“deep breaths, deep breaths”).

Okay I’m good now. (“Phew”).

See? That’s what this song will totally do to you. Consider that your first warning. The second warning I’ll give you is that the instant you hit the play button, YouTube will totally change it’s attitude towards you and create a new mental picture of you, a new improved one. Kind of like moving someone from one of the boxes in your head where you put people based on their character traits, behaviours, what they smoke, how ambitious they are, how serious they are, how hot (or not) they are, how big their willies (oops!! wallets are or could potentially be), or other criteria. Wait, am I the only one who does that? Is that wrong? I hate that I just told you that. Sh!! Don’t tell anyone okay? Would you like to know what box you are in inside my head right now? Of course you do – you are in the "Box 47". Trust me that’s the coolest box, it means I totally don't hate you and we could be friends some day. But don't ever try to kiss me okay? I totally hate that. 

But back to the song… my only advise for you as you make this journey to becoming a seasoned, highly sophisticated, professional hip hop fan is buckle up. If you smoke, roll one of those giant ones Snoop and Eminem shared at the VMAs 😊, but make sure you don’t finish it all in one go. Alright, hit the play button. 

Have a wonderful day. ✌

Explicit.


... forgave Spotify for all the songs it played me that I didn't like today


MUSIC


SOUL REVIEWS


06-08-2022 02:30 GMT


Music Reviews (August 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Soul artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Soul performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Mike Hargreaves on Spotify | Apple Music


Mike Hargreaves

"Until it Happens to You"
Soul


Good vibes so pure I almost wee-weed in my office chair ("sigh!"). I'm so happy. In fact I even totally forgave Spotify for all the songs it played me that I didn't like today. There were so many, as usual ("hiss!").

The good old phrase “I need a hand” seems to have taken on a whole new meaning in this sex crazy, deranged world we live in today. Did you know that? I had to find out the hard way. I rushed into my new intern colleague’s office early this morning before anyone else had come in and said it – “quick, I need a hand”. After a little blushing and a cheeky seductive smile, my eyes were met with something I was totally not expecting to see on a weekday morning and hands reaching towards somewhere I would normally not expect them to be going, again not on a weekday morning, in fact not on any morning in the office at all. The words “quick, before anyone else comes in” followed in gentle whispers that sent chills all over my body. Where my old teenage fantasies finally coming true? Years after I had given up trying to make them happen and buckled down to get my life together and be somebody? Was I ready? Was it right? Would we get caught? What if we did? Would the fantasies go a step further? So that whoever caught us joined in and instead of “blowing the whistle” blew on something else? To cut a long story short, I quickly snapped out of it and nothing happened. I shook my head and walked out in disgust, with anger and regret fighting every part of my body that was still tingling and I knew would tingle all day long. I didn’t tell anybody, except you. Don’t tell anybody okay? 

Now back to this sizzling hot record. The track was released back in 2020, but with all the stuff that’s been going on in the world, like most things it didn’t get the full attention it deserved because most of us were distracted, you know, with Covid, and bills and stuff. 

To be honest with you, I hate that I love this so much. Kind of like people who are so nice all the damn time. You know those ones who allow others to go before them all the time? The ones that, even if they needed to make poopoo urgently and were crowning, would still offer to let someone else go in the toilet stall before them? Arghh!! 

Have you noticed that people like that are becoming rarer and rarer? Like kids who used to toilet paper people’s front yards, you don’t see that at all of late – heck no, toilet paper gained a new respect from human kind during the pandemic, and it looks like things are going to stay that way for a very long time, ("sigh!!").  But we’re straying slightly, let’s come back to the song. I’ve got it playing right now and that’s what it'll do to you. You know those songs that just play away and fade into the background before burying themselves in the subconscious part of your mind and doing amazing things to you that you may not even realise they are doing till the song is over and you realise you've shared way too much information with a total stranger? Well, this is one of them. To be honest with you again, if this song doesn’t brighten up your day you’re really screwed – I hate to be that honest but sometimes it’s the only way to go. The minute you hit the play button you’ll know what’s about to happen to you and you will instantly do one of two things. You’ll either quickly hit the stop button, or rather the pause button (have you noticed thanks to Spotify the stop button has been completely abolished? When last did you see one? We’ll talk about how steamed we are about that later, darn Spotify, ruining everything). Or the second thing you may do is you’ll put everything down and just let go and let it do its thing. Which one did you think I did? I did the first one. I knew exactly what the song was about to do to me and I knew I wasn’t ready. I was elbow deep in some serious work with my hands metaphorically firmly gripping the horns of a really wild bull moments before flipping it over and making a stake out of it - yep, I take my work pretty seriously. To cut a long story short I successfully completed the task and I knew exactly what song to play as I sat back in my office chair arrogantly contemplating how much of a raise to demand next time I see the HR guy 😊. Now I can’t get the darn song to stop playing in my head every time I get my wallet out to pay for something – now that I think about it, it’s kind of like one of those infectious, really bright and colourful Bruno Mars type records, but better. 

Think about it


MUSIC


HIP HOP REVIEWS


11-07-2022 17:01 GMT




As featured on this week's
Music Discovery XO Auditions
Voting is still open
[Vote Here]





CashBoy Ballin

"Think About It"
Hip Hop


What's on your mind?

This week on the Music Discovery XO Auditions we had the opportunity to explore the compact yet ever so rewarding repertoire of emerging Florida, US rapper CashBoy Ballin who has his mind set on becoming his city’s next big rap star. "Think About It" stood out for a couple of good reasons. We'll discuss them below. 

The concept of this song evokes a very exciting vibe and feel. The production could have been a lot better so I listened to it more like a demo than a finished record; but all in all it is a pretty good song that would make a great addition to any motivational hip hop music playlist

As in the old saying: “Thinking is Believing”. Or wait, that’s not how it goes at all, I think I just made that up 😁. It should be something like: “You are What You Think” – ah yes, that’s the one I was thinking of. Just as in the saying, first made famous by the highly respected American radio speaker and author, Earl Nightingale who spent most of his career exploring the subjects of human character development, the song leads back to a secret (or not so secret) philosophy that has been secretly (or not so secretly) taught to successful people for centuries now. If you’ve never heard it before, you probably should do more Googling (oops!! Err, reading I mean). To be honest you don’t really need to do much reading to understand the saying but if you want to you can read “The Strangest Secret” by Earl Nightingale while listening to this song and see where it takes you. Much like suggested by the intelligent lyrics of this cleverly written record, the saying simply means that if you think very specific, meaningful thoughts over and over, and visualize them to the point where you believe they are already real, while simultaneously visualizing your new life with the product of your thoughts in existence and how this new addition to your life has changed your old life, et cetera, et cetera; whatever it is you are thinking MUST eventually become real. No, it’s not magic – it just is what it is. Nobody knows why, or who figured it out; that’s just the way the mind works. So what have you been thinking about today ey? Good things I hope. If you were thinking bad things, I hope they were only about sex (wink, wink), those are the only bad thoughts allowed in this philosophy - yes, spanking is fine too, don't worry 😁. In fact, I too like to think about spanking Ariana Grande, while listening to "Touch It" and eating a bread stick arrogantly, like a pompous, really stern headmaster who takes everything too seriously. I honestly believe I can make it real, but don't tell anybody. Have I said too much? Let's move on...

Hit the play button and visualize your dreams, and then hit the “VOTE” button to show your support and appreciation for Miami’s next big rapper. And don't forget to think about something amazing you would like to happen today or in the future and make it a habit to think about good things you like regularly. Congratulations, you’ve learned something new today. Make sure you do it again tomorrow, and never go a day without exploring or learning something or somewhere new. Come back here if you don’t know where to go, we're avid explorers.

Have you hit that play button yet? What do you think? Tweet @skunkradiolive and let’s talk about it. 

Explicit.


Invincible


MUSIC


HIP HOP REVIEWS


06-04-2022 04:12 GMT


Music Reviews (April 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Hip Hop artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Hip Hop performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Chingy on Apple Music | Spotify


Chingy

"Invincible"
Hip Hop


Positive vibes

… so two guys walk into a bar, right? One of them says to the other, “I’m not wearing anything under this trench coat”, with a big smile on his face as if expecting some sort of approval or praise. The other guy walks out of the bar with a straight face and doesn’t look back.

That’s it. 

You were expecting a punchline weren’t you? He-he-he. There’s none. 

Here at the SRL writers room we quite enjoy painfully unfunny jokes - it's an acquired taste, don't worry, you're not there yet. You’ll read a lot of them here, they’re hilarious 😊. They always come with a subtle message though, and some food for thought. So don’t worry, this is not one of those places that you can guarantee would be an utter waste of your time every single time. Sure, you’ll always leave with an AMAZING track to bring your awful, braindead Spotify playlists to life, but we want our readers to leave with more than just amazing songs and albums - we want to add value to their lives as well. That’s not to say we succeed, but we try – and trying is everything. As the old Snoop Dogg saying goes, “Ain’t nothing to it but to do it”, or something like that. In other words, whatever you want to do, no matter how farfetched it may seem, just do it - and that’s exactly what we do. The moral of that very unfunny story was that if you are uncomfortable with anything at all you shouldn’t be afraid to get up and leave IMMEDIATELY. Your mind and body are telling you something whenever you start to feel uncomfortable about a situation. They’re telling you that you either don’t agree with what’s happening or that what’s about to happen is too unpredictable for comfort. With that being said, I’d like to gently remind you that things could get uncomfortable really fast here at the Skunk Radio Live writers room. We don’t hold back anything but we generally mean no harm when we write. We don’t like politics and we don’t discuss it. In fact, throughout the time he was president of the United States, we only referred to him as Ronald Plump, you know who we’re talking about right? And nowadays if we ever talk about the recent conflicts in Europe, we might use words like Lootin’ or Poopin’, or whatever rhymes at the time – again, we mean no harm, just trying to avoid talking about politics and calling politicians' names. Not saying anyone is looting or is acting like a poopoo head.

Gladly, this song is not about politics, it makes no attempt to label anyone a poopoo head and it’s most certainly not about ill-gotten gains – like most mainstream hip hop records tend to be nowadays right?

St. Louis rapper Chingy is slowly but surely clawing his way back to the top after falling from grace and staying out of the limelight for a while a few years back. Each of his new records shows immense growth and development stylistically and artistically as he takes his signature nursery rhyme rap style and rebuilds it from the ground up, keeping all the amazing things fans fell in love with about the multiplatinum, award-winning hip hop star, who has sold over 20 million hard copies worldwide, something most new artists today will sadly never be able to claim they did ever again in the history of the music industry – and no, not even Kanye West. At $200 a piece, 20 million seems very farfetched to even think of, and the whole "Donda 2" (or whatever it's called) move in general seems like a billionaire’s desperate attempt to stay afloat in the middle of a pandemic and a global financial crisis. But what do we know, we’re not accountants and plus, it took many of us here years of brain fatigue from listening to the relentless ads of Spotify’s free service before finally giving up and signing up for PRO. It wasn’t about the money, it was about the principle. Spotify’s business model devalued the music industry and made every existing song and every song that will be created in perpetuity a worthless piece of you know what, essentially. Nowadays, a song is no longer what makes money for the musicians that spent countless hours, days, months and even years making them. It’s what is done with the records and the publicity that results that makes the money. So it’s no surprise a lot of music sucks these days, morale is low in the industry and musicians are spending a lot more time trying to figure out how to make a living in the industry than how to make a good record – who can blame them right?

But anyway, where were we? Ah yes, Chingy’s amazing new record, which has, not only got fans and critics raving again; but is also doing well to raise the morale of die-hard rap fans whose souls are dying really slowly from records where all the praise should really go to the producers rather than the artists. Yes, a good hip hop beat will blow your socks off quicker wasabi, but no one wants to hear what is increasingly seeming like the same lyrics of the last song they heard re-arranged into a different order and performed in a different style and tempo. 

This song is different. Chingy is from the old school era of music when artistic integrity and lyrical prowess mattered whether you were making hip hop, rock or even electronica; and consequently, the track reeks of the results of hours of writing and re-writing, and several takes of vocal recording; not like new records that sound like they were done in one take most of the time. If you strip a hip hop record of all the guns and violence, take away all the showering of champagnes and other yellowish liquids on girls at pool parties; and all the fingers and other things out of the poor ladies' butt holes; and all the mindless but ever so exciting stuff rappers are polluting our minds with, but we apparently love so much as far as the music industry is concerned; this is what you get – positive rap music about love, good vibes, family, friends and being amazing just being ones self. Phew! finally, something positive right? 

Enjoy! 

Thank me later with a big ass box of chocolates and some beef jerky, it’s almost 4:20 AM 😊. 

JK, chocolates are so gay. 

Explicit.

When did men start slapping each other like b*tches?


MUSIC


HIP HOP REVIEWS


30-03-2022 02:56 GMT


Music Reviews (March 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Hip Hop artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Hip Hop performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Six9 on YouTube | Spotify


Six9

"Bounce Back"
Hip Hop


I still can't believe my ears

When did men start slapping each other like b*tches? When I saw Will Smith slap Chris Rock at the Oscars the other day over a little joke I was totally disgusted. And not for the silly reasons that are splattered all over social media and even the mainstream media, but for 2 simple reasons. 

I’m generally not excited or even the slightest bit moved when celebrities do stuff normal people like us don’t understand because I’m too busy doing other stuff that is a lot more important to me. Who cares what the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air did at the Oscars? I don't know what it's like to be a prince, or to live in Bel-Air. I wasn’t even invited, those bastards! He-he-he. JK. If I was invited I probably wouldn’t even have showed up. Too busy to sit around celebrating myself, or even worse, other peoples’ achievements in the middle of a pandemic and a looming global recession; AND gathering items for my emergency evacuation bag for when Lootin' (you know who I mean) unleashes those nuclear weapons he's been quietly dropping hints about. Is that weird? Do I sound like a hater right now? I know you nodded. Well KMA then. JK of course. My point there was that when what people say or think about you somehow manages to get to you, you’ll find yourself doing stupid sh*t like hitting people like a b*tch on live television – men don’t slap each other when they get pissed off, they throw a Mike Tyson punch and make sure you never get up. I mean, if I was going to walk out in front of all my peers and hit someone on international television in front of the whole world, my wife AND my kids, I’d want the whole show to stop; not go on like nothing happened. That was the most pathetic slap I’ve ever seen, SMH. And he wonders why reporters try to kiss him, he-he-he - maybe it’s because they are hoping he’ll rub his palm softly against their cheeks and walk off like he really did something, LOL. The only other thing I’ll say about this matter is a very touchy subject and I probably shouldn’t say it but I was hurt to see a 53 year old man assault a 57 year old man while he was just doing his job, that sh*t just doesn’t sit well with me. I’m not saying Will was wrong for getting mad, we all get mad and we all have a right to do so, whether people understand why or not. Just the other day my blood boiled violently when a waiter called me by my name at a dinner reservation. And why, you may ask? BECASUE I HATE WHEN PEOPLE CALL MY NAME OKAY?!! What’s with the third-degree damn it? See, I even almost got pissed off there, phew! 

("Deep breaths") ...

During these unprecedented times, everyone’s a little touchy but nevertheless everyone is entitled to their moments. How they handle those moments is what makes them unique. The thing I was really scratching my head about, and this is not an insult; is that rapper August Alsina “dated” the hell out of Jane (oops! Jada 😀) for four and a half whole years with Will’s knowledge and he was totally fine with that, but he couldn’t take a little joke? And you know how rappers “date” women, rappers are ruff! (oops! rough). You give your wife to one of these new rappers for one night she'll never be the same again - inside and outside, not to talk of four years, phew! That’s what really had me messed up, I don’t care if he got mad and if he was still allowed to receive an award and then was subsequently given a standing ovulation; that's Hollywood stuff. See what I did there? "A standing ovulation" - because he hits like a b*tch, get it? I’ve said all I have to say about that. I wasn’t even going to say anything about it but everyone’s talking about it so whatever. 

Now that that crap is out of the way, let’s get right down to this song that I was about to tell you about. To be honest with you the reason I brought up the subject of Will slapping Chris was that the whole incident seemed so unmanly to me (almost "happy" if you know what I mean); kind of like what a lot of mainstream hip hop records are starting to sound to me nowadays. Everyone’s grinning and singing songs about eating each others' asses. I’m old school, I totally don’t understand it. This song restored some normality to my music collection and my life as a whole. To be honest with you I was supposed to have reviewed it years ago but I was being very selfish 😁. Have you ever discovered something so amazing you didn’t want anyone else to have it? Well, that’s exactly what happened to me here. And when you hear it you’d probably not want to share it with anyone else either. 

The track was so good that it deserved a playlist of its own. I put it on repeat and didn’t listen to anything else while I tried to think of an artist or a song that I could chase it with without losing the amazing feeling it evoked in my soul. The only track I found that could chase it was another track by the same artist Six9. No, not the snitch Six9ine with the colorful teeth and multicolored hair, the real Six9 – and there you were thinking you knew everything there was to know in hip hop, SMH. I’m being selfish with that track that I chased it with as well but I might share it with you a little bit later. I'll also share the playlist I'm creating around it once it's done. 

”Bounce Back” is a motivational record. If you have fallen on hard times and are struggling to get back up, it will get you off your ass and keep you on your feet till you are back in the game and at your best once again. If you are already at your best, it will motivate you to keep pushing the limits harder and harder everyday till your Jesus piece drops its jaw. Forget about every motivational hip hop track you’ve heard over the past decade, they’re all trash – that’s all I’m saying. If I’m wrong, recreate one of the millions of Will Smith slapping Chris Rock memes that are probably surfacing by the second on TikTok as we speak; and walk up to my office at London Bridge and slap me ever so softly. I’ll play along and make a little joke about it then go back to doing my work like nothing happened 😂. 

Oh I forgot to tell you – the minute you hit the play button the lyrics of this record could become deeply embedded in your brain for days, if not weeks. That's what happened to me. I almost lost it, but then I found my Jack Daniel's, phew! I’m still totally sedated right now, can you tell? 

Explicit.

For sinners


MUSIC


ALTERNATIVE ROCK REVIEWS


24-03-2022 02:31 GMT


Music Reviews (March 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Alternative Rock artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Alternative Rock performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Elliott Waits For No One on Apple Music | Spotify


Elliott Waits For No One

"Original Sin"
Alternative Rock



Did anyone else in the world find it strange or at least too much of a coincidence that Obama killed Osama? And not only that the names were so similar but that the very letters that made their names different were B and S? Was it all BS? Did they know each other? Was Obama Osama? Is anything even real? No one knows anything anymore. 

Is it weird that the world is round and yet people on the underside of the planet don't have all the blood in their bodies rushing to their brains because they are essentially upside down? And how come everything in their houses are not on the ceiling? And don’t say because of gravity, that’s totally insane. Can anyone even get an erection under those conditions? Or could that be where the abstruse idea of soft dildos came from? I mean who says to themselves day and night that, and I quote, “a hard man is so good to find”, and then goes out and buys a soft dildo? Only someone from a land of soft willies, wouldn’t you say? And wait, if those people are upside down, shouldn’t their clocks be going backwards? You know, like in a mirror? 

If sex, money, drugs and everything that’s amazing is on God’s list of don’ts, doesn’t it mean most humans, contrary to what they say, would rather go to Hell? I mean think about it – everybody sober-facing each other day and night in Heaven, no cursing - even if you stub your small toe, no new booty (will we even be allowed to have sex?), no getting high, no binging on potato chips, drinking only enough wine to be almost tipsy, eating bread and fish every day; and last but not least but worst of all – if Hell is hot and Heaven is the opposite of Hell, does that mean it’s winter in Heaven all year round? "Aww, Hell no!!", I hear you say, and rightfully so.  Which leads to the main question that has really been bugging me lately - did Eve have an apple bottom? Is that why we are all stuck here in this crazy mess? Because Adam was a filthy, filthy boy and ate the booty? Think about it. Adam’s snake, the apple, the eating, everyone was naked – seems like a recipe for sexy time if you ask me. 

“So why all these crazy thoughts, and where is this all going?”, I hear you think to yourself. Well, I was just listening to this really cool track that opened up my mind quicker than a bag of super skunk (not that I’ve smoked it before, that’s just what I've heard, “wink, wink”). I didn’t want you to get into it thinking it was great so I decided to just take you to a special place in your mind first, and I can tell you are there now. Don’t ask how I know, I just know. I can also tell you have a really big bush. Just kidding. But it kind of sort of feels like you do now that I think about it (he-he-he). Don’t worry, let that be our little secret - no one’s judging you here. But it's 2022 for God’s sake! If you do have one, get rid of it immediately and don’t do it again. 

Okay so let’s get into this song, you’re definitely ready. “Original Sin” sits in position number 5 of Chicago alternative rock trio Elliott Waits For No One’s critically acclaimed self-titled summer 2020 album “Elliott Waits For No One”. Having excelled individually on their respective local music scenes for several years before forming the group, it was an album that brought a lot of big sounds together and merged them so skillfully that it was hard for it not to be a masterpiece. It took critics and fans alike aback and many of the tracks on the independently released record are still winning awards till today, over 2 years after its release. “Original Sin” initially stood out to me because of the title but when I finally got to listen to it I was hooked. It's mellow, melancholic and just almost pensive. It burns really slow and it’s almost as if it takes your hand and walks you to a serene place where you just want nothing more than to be. That’s all I’m saying about it. Saying anymore about it would be like trying to explain why a McDonald’s Big Mac is one of the best burgers you’ll ever eat on earth – no one really knows why, it’s just amazing. 

And remember this: just because something’s right there in front of you doesn’t mean it’s there for you. Don’t worry, you’ll know what to do with that information when the time is right. If you don’t and it keeps you up all night, write me a letter and I’ll be sure to write you back. 

That's all for now. 

Hugs and kisses, 
 Me Who 
(I’m not Chinese, don't ask 😊)

Love and longing are not the same


MUSIC


SYNTHPOP REVIEWS


26-02-2022 03:27 GMT


Music Reviews (February 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Synthpop artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Synthpop performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Megan Mcduffee on Spotify | Bandcamp


Megan Mcduffee

"13th Hour"
Synthpop


Songwriting, like God intended

Did you ever hear the story about the dog that never crossed the road? Of course you didn’t, there is no such tale and there probably never will be. Oh wait, there will, in fact be one – this one you are about to read now.

There was a cute little puppy who was always told to look left and right before crossing the road, however, it was never told that it couldn’t do both at the same time (😊 SMH). Can you tell where this is going? Yep, you guessed right, nowhere right? On its first day out on its own, it stood at the side of the road waiting for the perfect time but the perfect time never came, because there was no way of determining when the time was perfect. The moral of the story is that you’ve got to be specific! As specific as that last safety wipe of your caboose before hitting the flush button after doing that thing you do immediately after your morning coffee or your Captain Crunch cereal for all you weird cereal junkies out there. As specific as a bomb defuser’s wire cutter. As specific as Drake’s hairline before he claimed Covid destroyed it (WTF, Covid is being blamed for EVERYTHING!). If you are wondering what all this talk about being specific is all about then you have probably never been here before (newbie, SMH 😆). If you have been here before you’d probably already know by now that what you reading is just the product of an excited mind under the influence of some really compelling sonic vibrations and that what you are about to listen to could in fact be the OPPOSITE of specific – because we’re so edgy here like that. You know, like when we say “bad” we mean “good”, and when we say “sick” no one’s vomiting. Was going to add that when we talk about chains and whips no one is picking cotton but it seemed a little racist, so won’t say that. 

But back to this awesome track. 

“13th Hour” is the title track of San Francisco, US composer turned singer Megan McDuffee’s new album.  She has been blowing the socks of electronic music fans for a few years now and is on a steady rise to superstardom while still managing to excel more so than ever before in the world of video game and film music composing. It’s a song that, like a maze, will take you to a very special mysterious place that you’ll never want to escape from, but couldn’t if you tried. And no, hitting the pause or stop button on Spotify won’t help you. It’s one of those songs that just echoes in your ears gently forever. It's one of those peculiar records that won’t necessarily hit your sweet spot immediately but it will do things you like and touch you in places that make you feel so good (musically obviously). It's classical music meets trance and dance, with a groove that will make you move and vocal whispers that will make you shiver. Why haven’t you hit the play button yet? You’re still thinking about the word "specific" aren’t you? Okay let’s talk about it a little bit more. Nowadays, it’s quite rare for songs to be specific. When was the last time you heard a song that made sense all the way through? It was about one thing, and one thing only; and all the way through, everything revolved around that one thing. Listen to any new song and you’ll get an idea of what is being said here. One disgruntled old school music fan said "listening to today's music is like being cornered by Prince in a dark alley and tickled with a soft white feather frantically from head to toe in a bid to find your sweetest spot". Talk about a nightmare right? That's so scary. Imaging if Prince was also wearing those infamous white pants that had the butt cheeks cut out and he was jiggling his butt cheeks while doing it? He-he-he. Just to be clear, he was a straight male.

Songs are rarely about anything now, they say they are about something and the next thing you know they have drifted off and are talking about something else, kind of like the way I write, but not cool and exciting like I do it 😊. I totally understood where he was coming from. Sometimes I want to hear a song about love that is ONLY about love, and that doesn’t drift off to talk about the people that hate every other verse, or about eating boogina (yep, that's a word, but don't Google it). So I guess this review was a little selfish. Sorry, there's too much about me in here. At least you get a really good and  specific song out of it – a song about love and longing, and getting lost in a maze of desire with the apple of your eye. It’s really “specific” all the way through. Enjoy! “Chef’s kiss”. 

Pour yourself a drink, quick!


MUSIC


R&B REVIEWS


26-02-2022 00:12 GMT


Music Reviews (February 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming R&B artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie R&B performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Marco Richh on Spotify | Apple Music


Marco Richh

"Party"
R&B


Pour yourself a drink, quick!

Lately it’s been seeming like just when you breath that final sigh of frustration and think to yourself that the world has hit the lowest low it could ever possibly hit and that nothing at all could get even the slightest bit worse, the universe kicks things up a notch and proves us wrong; as if to remind us – there is ALWAYS worse. Of course you always knew that and you never forgot, because you are so wise and you’ve seen and been through so much; but it reminds you anyway and shows you things that make you remember to cherish every single thing you have and that you are able to do or are doing right now, this very moment in your life. In fact while you are reading this you should even give yourself a big pat on the back just for the mere fact that you are reading something longer than Twitter’s 280 character limit – what is being called the new average attention span of a human being. Can you believe that ish? Nobody reads anymore, not even if there was the slightest possibility of getting rich from the information that is acquired after the 281st character. But wait, "how many characters have we reached?", I hear you think, because your mind remembers seeing the word "richh" somewhere at the start. That was just the artist's name, but don't worry there is still a chance you could get rich if you are not already elbow deep in the universe's "tangible measure of quality and increment" already. Wait, you didn't know that was what money was? Of course you did, silly me. How else would you have amassed so much of it or be planning to. For the sake of the nerds who want to know now because I’ve aroused your curiosity about where this is all going – by the end of this sentence you would have read 1313 characters including all the punctuation marks and spaces. But give or take a few characters thanks to those big-headed editors. You’re so awesome right now either way. 

But where were we? Ah yes; this crazy, crazy world that just keeps getting crazier and crazier. What to do, what to do. There’s only one thing to do for now because it’s Friday night and nothing could be more shameful than wasting a perfectly good Friday night. Forget about all the craziness, forget about getting rich (or richer), forget about your problems, who's hating, who's watching, who owes you money; what Kanye West is planning; how A$AP Rocky got Rihanna; and just let go. It’s time for some good old me time. Don’t worry, all your problems will still be there when you are ready to go head to head with them one more time. But this time you’ll be refreshed and re-energized, and you'll do it like it’s your first time. I promise you, you’ll kick ass (not like your first time doing "you know what" with "you know who" though - you were totally awful 🤣 - you went in like a raging bull instead of being strategic and calm). 

So let’s get right down to it shall we? 

This song right here was chosen for all the wrong reasons but it turned out to be the perfect choice. Of late it’s been seeming like all the songs and albums we’ve been reviewing have been getting the best praises so we thought we’d shake things up and look for something a little off. Not to wipe the disgusting smiles off those  skinny jeans, Yeezy sneakers wearing; tattoo having; "I’m a God" thinking, "I blow myself a kiss in the mirror every morning before I leave the house" guys in the A&R department obviously (he-he-he); but just for the fun of it. Besides, people seem to like crappy stuff nowadays, I mean look at the clothes they're wearing. They look like they should also come with body odour and a musty smell to make them more authentic bum attire. After all why look used if it doesn't smell used right? More of the world's craziness - like non-alcoholic beer, and smokeless bongs (WTF). So of course we turned to something a little pop-ish. Pop is going through a serious identity crisis right now so we were certain we’d find a crappy song that thinks it’s the bomb without too much work. But alas, those supercool, self-righteous bastards at A&R won again – this song was awesome! 

Released back in the heat of the pandemic of 2019, “Party” is a record that is yet to get the full attention and praise it deserves, but as music fans and the rest of the world emerge from hiding and start to discover new things again, critics are saying it could be a massive summer hit this year. Let’s not waste anymore time discussing it. We’ve already agreed that you’re going to let go and just chill out tonight because it’s Friday, so what are you waiting for? Pour yourself a drink and put your best (oops!! dirtiest and most torn) clothes on. Get your socks with the holes as well, and pull last week's underwear out of the dirty clothes hamper so you are authentic. You don’t have to go out but you’ll be doing a whole lot of dancing tonight. Let’s go! 

A Little Bit Above Low Key


MUSIC


HIP HOP REVIEWS


16-02-2022 03:18 GMT


Music Reviews (February 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming Hip Hop artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie Hip Hop performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Eyenine on Spotify | Apple Music


Eyenine

"A Little Bit Avove Low Key"
Hip Hop


Stimulate your intelligence

Not for the shallow-minded, to be honest

Telepathic grenade


The title of this album is so much of an understatement that if it was understated anymore it would have no title at all. Eyenine has always been a very down to earth and focused individual from the very beginning, so this is not unexpected. 

It’s not uncommon for people to sometimes downplay their best works in case it’s not good enough for whoever’s judging – in fact everyone’s doing it nowadays, and shamelessly even. Rappers are surfacing left right and center with names like Shitbag and Poopoohead, and tattoos on their faces that make Mike Tyson look like a pretty boy. That's definitely not what was happening here with the title though - guess you really shouldn't judge an album by its cover after all - silly me. But if this was an attempt to downplay the album in case it wasn’t good enough, it certainly failed - it was amazing! Nowadays people seem more excited about junk than anything else. It seems like it has become more fun than ever before to laugh at something bad than it is to appreciate something that's as close to perfect as is humanly possible, he-he-he. Think about it - if Mr. Bean ran for president against whoever your favorite politician is, wouldn't a small part of you be itching to vote for Bean? 

People walk into the most expensive stores nowadays and emerge with clothes that a person from the dirtiest slums would in previous years have been ashamed to wear, and jeans so tight you may have an orgasm if you walk too fast for too long. How long will it be before fashion designers start selling deodorants, perfumes and colognes that smell like filthy sweat and body odour? Remember how you smelled when your body was going through all those embarrassing changes and no deodorant was strong enough? He-he-he. Just wait and see. Look out in your favourite stores for "B.O" pour Homme, by Kanye West obviously - and “Hoochie Coochie” for the ladies. But why even stop there? How about underwear with doodoo stains ey? Why not go all out. 

But where were we? See how we drifted off? That’s the sort of casual feel you get when you first start to listen to this album, and then it takes you deeper and deeper into your mind till you start to feel like you are not alone even when no one is around you. Just take a closer look at the album cover and you’ll know that what you are about to listen to is the product of a really exciting and intelligent mind. Unlike the title suggests, it will take you on an adventure to a place so far away from your mediocre music library that the next time you open Spotify you won’t even hit the play button. This isn’t one of those “fuck you” albums dedicated to everybody who's hating; or one of those albums you listen to while you're thinking about devouring Kim Kardashian's bits or doing  whatever you kids are doing these days in the back of your Maybachs and Bentleys, and your 10 bedroom multi-million dollar mansions, and your helicopters. This is a sophisticated hip hop masterpiece that is best suited for the most pensive of moments. It’s packed with exciting skits that make it feel like a movie. After the first 3 or 4 tracks, you’ll start to feel like your brain is being permeated by intelligence. 10 tracks, 31 minutes and 5 seconds later, when you open your eyes, and realize they’d been open all along; you’ll feel like you know stuff. 

 Sadly none of your playlists is good enough for this album, just create a new one and name it something really smart. 

Enjoy. 

Explicit. 

Your 2022 Winners Anthem


MUSIC


R&B REVIEWS


16-01-2022 15:21 GMT


Music Reviews (January 2022) - Discover the best emerging, underground & upcoming R&B artists, bands & labels with reviews of the latest songs, albums & mixtapes, music videos, music playlists, live events/gigs, concerts/tours, & other entertainment from your favorite indie R&B performers & entertainers daily on SRL Music Reviews.
Music by indie artist, Tamara Bubble on Soundcloud | Spotify


Tamara Bubble

"Wayward"
R&B


Your 2022 winners anthem.

Really big song by New York sensation Tamara Bubble. If you've been following this exciting fast-rising independent Brooklyn rapper slash singer slash pop star in the making, then you don’t need a rocket scientist to tell you what to expect here – nothing but excellence. And excellence is exactly what you get. If you haven't been following her already, where the hell have you been and what have you been listening to? She's only the best thing to happen in rap music since it became acceptable to wear a thong on television. This one’s got a more melodic feel than most of her recent releases and does well to showcase her R&B performance style in all its glory. This is one of those songs that will always do well to pick you up when you are feeling like you are fighting a losing battle, and give you that extra push at the gym or when you need it most in your endeavors. It’s a track about believing in yourself - the most important thing in life